An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Joint Base Andrews News

NEWS | Feb. 8, 2019

New civic leaders inducted into the Air Force

By Tech. Sgt. Robert Barnett Secretary of the Air Force Public Affairs

More than 40 Air Force civic leaders visited Washington, D.C., Jan. 29-31, for a civic leader conference with the Air Force’s most senior leaders.

The Air Force civic leaders are part of an Air Staff-level program, and members are comprised of community leaders selected by the Air Force major commands, National Guard Bureau and Headquarters Air Force.

During the conference, Air Force Secretary Heather Wilson and Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. David L. Goldfein expressed their gratitude for the civic leaders and their support of the Air Force.

“Civic leaders, you are part of this family,” Goldfein said. “We live, we work, we go to school, we go to church in your communities. It provides us different perspectives by leveraging your expertise to help strengthen our joint war-fighting team. Thank you for everything you do to help us on this journey.”

In turn, the civic leaders learned about the Air Force’s priorities and progress while strengthening bonds and partnerships. While at Joint Base Andrews, Maryland, the group discussed topics ranging from “The Air Force We Need,” to new approaches on acquisition and the Air Force’s broad responsibilities under the new National Defense Strategy.

“I’m here to learn how the Air Force protects our nation and how they go about executing their mission each and every day, and all the in’s and out’s about doing that,” said Ryan Binkley, civic leader from Alaska. “It’s clear our leaders are committed to modernizing the Air Force to meet [threats] and continuing to maintain the strongest military in the world.”

The conference was an opportunity to honor graduating members Tony Hughes, who represented Air Force Special Operations Command and Hurlburt Air Force Base, Florida, Lee Webber, who represented Pacific Air Forces and Anderson AFB, Guam, Frank Cioffi, who represented Burlington Air National Guard Base, Vermont and the National Guard Bureau, and Michael Bidwill, who represented Headquarters, Headquarters Air Force and Luke AFB, Arizona, with the Air Force Distinguished Public Service Award in recognition for their contributions to the Air Force mission.

The event was also used to induct the newest members into the group.

The new members are:

Ryan Binkley – representing Pacific Air Force and Eielson AFB, Alaska.

Timothy Burke – representing the National Guard Bureau and Offutt AFB, Nebraska. He is the president of the Omaha Public Power District.

Kristi Hilbert – representing the Air Force Reserve Command and Pittsburgh Air Reserve Station, Pennsylvania.

Jeff Hoagland – representing Air Force Material Command and Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio.

Kyle Hybl – representing Air Force Space Command and Peterson AFB, Colorado.

Bernard Johnson – representing Air Force Special Operations Command and Hurlburt Field, Florida.

Scott Landguth – representing Air Force Global Strike Command and Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota.

Rod Nenner – representing Air Force District of Washington and JBA.

Tom Neubauer – representing Air Combat Command and Tyndall AFB, Florida.

Sandy Person – representing Air Mobility Command and Travis AFB, California.

Dr. Ronda Sauget – representing AFRC, Air Mobility Command and Scott AFB, Illinois.

Klaus Weiswurm – representing Air Education and Training Command and Joint Base San Antonio-Randolph, Texas.